Skip to content ↓


Year 7

Physics begins with a series of transition lessons, introducing students to Key Stage 3 Physics.  Students then cover energy and energy transfers before progressing to study forces and motion, to include magnetism and electromagnetism. Finally they look at heating, cooling, and changes of state before moving on to their individual Research Projects in the Summer Term, where they will look at Space and our Solar System.

Year 8

Covers three main topics:  Light, Electricity and Sound.  During each topic the students will complete 2 level assessed pieces of work; an end of unit test for each topic and a second piece focusing on their practical and investigative skills. All of these results are recorded in student’s books so they can track their own progress and identify any individual targets for improvement. At the end of Year 8 an extended investigation into cratering is planned and carried out, with results applied to possible extinction events.

Year 9

Pupils begin studying for a triple award at GCSE which continues into year 10 and year 11.  The first topic they will study will be Heat and Energy transfers.

GCSE Physics gives students a good understanding of how the world works, why things behave in the way that they do and how these fundamental ideas can be applied to the real world around us.  It allows students to develop experimental and investigative skills, broaden their understanding of the technological and environmental applications of Physics and appreciate the economic, ethical and social implications of Physics.  GCSE Physics is an ideal foundation for students who want to go on to study A-level Physics and for a good grounding in scientific ideas.

GCSE Physics has two externally examined units, examined as two separate papers, at the end of Year 11:

Unit 1

  • Energy
  • Electricity
  • Particle Model of Matter
  • Atomic structure and radioactivity.

Unit 2

  • Forces and motion.
  • Waves
  • Magnetism and electromagnetism
  • Space Physics